top of page
png_20220326_221827_0000.png

MIND YOUR THOUGHTS!

The other day I was scrolling through the “Recently Released” section of Netflix, looking for the next show to binge on, now that I’ve finished the second season of “Good Witch”, and the next one unfortunately doesn’t come out until the end of April, and although I love “Grace & Frankie”, I needed more! Anyway, I came across a movie that I haven’t seen since I was a kid, but I have thought about it quite often, as I feel that it is kind of where it all started for me.



The movie is “Blank Check”, starring Brian Bonsall, Karen Duffy and Miguel Ferrer, directed by Rupert Wainwright. It was released in 1994 as a PG film about an 11-year-old boy named Preston, who is nearly run over by a money-laundering criminal, who in-turn gives him a check that he accidentally leaves blank. This concept is what first expanded my mindset to one of abundance. We never know what could happen in our lives in order to align us with that which we desire.


I loved watching these types of movies as a kid… “Richie Rich”, “Home Alone”… anything where the kids were able to live without a worry of money or financial stress. I grew up very poor, living in a small shack in the middle of nowhere during the first portion of my childhood. We didn’t have running water, we cooked on a wood stove, which was also our heat source, and we had an outhouse as a bathroom. Needless to say, we bathed in a bucket. We often went “dumpster diving” for food from the garbage cans behind the grocery store, hoping that no-one from school would see us.


So, whenever I had the opportunity to witness a different perspective of life through the eyes of someone else, I hopped on it. Despite being poor, we lived in a very wealthy area. My father rented a piece of land from a farmer, where he built the shack that we lived in. Experiencing what it felt like to be the odd person out, because not only was I the only person of color, I was also the “dirty kid” in hand-me-down clothes. Instead of allowing this to break me, I let it build me into the leader that I am today. I don’t need approval from others, I don’t need to fit in, in fact I love being unique and making a statement with my presence. I know I stand out, and I love it!


Life will teach us lessons, it is up to us to learn! Over the years I have lived my share of struggles, but through it all I emerged with the abundance mindset, and I have been able to manifest amazing things! Reading books like Creative Visualization, by Shakti Gawain and Ask And It Is Given, by Esther + Jerry Hicks, has expanded upon my pre-existing knowledge on manifesting abundance. I know that you must Ask, Believe, Receive in order to bring your desires to fruition!

When you focus on the feeling that you want to create as opposed to focusing on that which you do not want, you are amplifying that vibration and aligning with that which you desire. I am so glad that I stumbled upon “Blank Check” because it reminded me to write myself one! There are no limits, because where you can go in the mind, you will go in the body. Limitless!

. Magazine .

bottom of page